Who needs hind legs???


FullHarnessSideview

This is my Help Em Up harness.

I know it has been a long time since I posted to this blog and I apologize. We have been busy with 3 Chessies in the house and two needing extra special training. I have been doing pretty well until about 3 to 4 weeks ago. The snow and ice are tough on the disabled, both the 2 and 4-legged. I took a few slips on the ice despite Pam holding my harness and they have either taken their toll or my hips have just finally given up. Either way, I am unable to walk on my own any more. I am okay with this and have taken it in stride, not literally! Even when I could walk on my own, I have been spending most of my time lying in the middle of the living room floor. This way no one can move through the house without stepping over or around me. Now I am just there all of the time unless someone moves me. I alternate between sitting and lying on one side or the other. Periodically I drag myself a few feet one direction or the other but I pretty much stay on the area size rug in the living room.

UptoMyWheelsinSnow2

I can even cut my own trail in deep snow with my Walkin’ Wheels, but it is pretty hard work.

I am still getting out in my wheels once a day for a “roll about” the neighborhood. I explore the neighbors’ yards and greet the other people and dogs that are out and about for about 20 minutes each day. Rain, snow or sunshine, I am out. However, Pam draws the line on icy days and we don’t go for a roll on those days. We have had to make several adaptations to my harness on my wheels so Pam can get me in and out with one hand as she has to always have one hand holding up my butt. You would be amazed how quickly we can harness up and down. In fact, Pam can even get me into my wheels while talking on her cell phone!!! She only dropped it once and luckily I have broad shoulders and it landed right on them and sat there! It didn’t even fall in the snow!

Indoor Cart prototype #1

Indoor Cart prototype #1

We are in the process of testing and adapting an indoor cart so I can stand in the kitchen while Pam is cooking. These are still under construction but so far they are working pretty well. The reason I cannot use my regular wheels in the house is because they are too wide (32″) for the doorways in our house. Our house was built in the 1930′s and only has 30″ at best interior doorway openings. So we had to design some narrow wheels that also will accommodate my large size with some basic stability. We are still working on the weight displacement but the model pictured is prototype #1. Pam really should remove all the blue painter’s tape that Jeff put on to help her re-assemble the cart after shipping!

Well, I think that is about all I have for right now. I will try to post a little more frequently and bring you up to speed on what we have been doing and what is going on in the life of a disabled Chessie! I am very happy to announce that I now have a group of “wheelin’ friends”! In the last few months I have developed friendships with Coco, the chocolate lab and Emma, the black lab have both acquired wheels. And my dear friend, Casey, another rescued Chessie like me just got his wheels this week!

I will leave you with a view of me rolling around the ‘hood. Sorry Pam only shoots rear views, she can’t walk backwards very well!  Enjoy!

Here is a photo of me walking today taken from the front.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who needs hind legs???

  1. You are one stylin girl. Glad you got your wheels so you can stroll around when you want to. I hope the new cart for the house works out for you.

Leave a Reply

